Meet Neil – My Tsukasa Taiko: Member Testimonial Series 003

Meet Neil from our Gintenkai 1 Unit.

  1. Why did you choose Tsukasa Taiko?

I was in 1st grade when I started playing with Tsukasa Taiko, and it all began when one of my mom’s co-workers said that her daughter had started, and she thought that I would have a lot of fun with it too. I really don’t remember much as it was a long time ago,  but the only thing that really stuck with me is that whenever I used to go to class, it always felt humbling in some way. I don’t really know how to explain it but that’s how I remember the environment being for me. I mean on top of that, there was also always something active happening so it kept me interested in the class. I mean who wouldn’t like to bang on drums when you are small like that.

  1. Please share your most memorable Tsukasa moment.

I think my most memorable moment with Tsukasa was at the end of my first Taiko Legacy. I remember how exhilarating and cool it felt to have finally finished something that was so grand. This is when I heard the clapping of the crowd, and it made me fill up with joy and relief that just felt well, amazing! It was really cool to see all of the hard work everyone had put into the show to make it possible, so when the curtain finally fell for the last time it was just a really awesome and rewarding experience.

  1. What do you look forward to doing with Tsukasa in the future?

Well lets see, I really look forward to playing at the new venues because I still find that performing is actually pretty fun. This is one thing I look forward to, but what enjoy even more than that, is seeing how far Tsukasa Taiko has come and how it’s still growing today. I mean there are so many new students, that it sometimes becomes hard to remember their names. (It could also be that I’m terrible at remembering them but that’s besides the point.) I mean I remember when I was their age, we didn’t learn half the things that they are learning today, so it always makes me happy when I see them performing and becoming the next generation of Tsukasa Taiko.

.