Meet Koji – My Tsukasa Taiko: Member Testimonials Series 011

Meet Koji, one of our core Gintenkai performers.

  1. Why did you choose Tsukasa Taiko?

My friend Eigen was learning with Tsukasa. He had been playing since he was 4, and I joined when I was 7. We’re two of the original Tsukasa Taiko members. I never would have guessed that we’d both become performance unit members back then, but 12 years later we’re both proud Ginten drummers.

  1. Please share your most memorable Tsukasa moment.

Learning Ku-Ru-Ri, one of the most complicated, hyper-dynamic, synchronized composition only select Gintenkai members have been taught. Ku-ru-ri also represents a particular routine for the small taiko in chamber (ozashiki) music and was originally a part of a shamisen composition. This piece is truly in Tsukasa fashion where we’re able to perform an excerpt from a traditional composition, but reconstituted and modernized to fit our contemporary presentations.

  1. What do you look forward to doing with Tsukasa in the future?

As always, I look forward to new stages and collaborating with various artists. As a seasoned performance unit member, I enjoy recurring shows as well as new opportunities to showcase our group. I love seeing where taiko can take me next. Sometimes it’s a shared stage with established jazz musicians, sometimes it’s a performance with traditional Japanese grand masters, and sometimes it’s with other community groups. It’s always unpredictable, but I love that.